Undergraduate Research Experiences

Week 2 Of SROP

The second week of SROP has not been too bad. I have submitted my project proposal and am on schedule with my timeline. For the rest of this week and next week, I will be studying more about the basics on electron diffraction. There may also be some training on the electron microscope. Then, I will actually start to get hands on experience! I will be using an electron microscope to study metal oxide crystals. This is just a very general description, however, which brings about another thought.

I am very privileged to be in SROP! I and my fellow SROP participants were given a tour of the company Nanophase, which deals a lot with metal oxides. We also got an informative and amusing talk from the CEO of Nanophase! I almost feel guilty for how kindly we are being treated! Besides the research experience, I am being more social than usual. There is really a sense of community that has been intertwined in this program! Every Tuesday we have social outings with SROP and several other program participants. This week we went bowling. It was a lot of fun. I ended up breaking my previous bowling score of consistent gutters!

Well… it has been nice chatting but it is time to get back to work. How fun!

Comments on: "Week 2 Of SROP" (1)

  1. Gabriela,

    I love reading your blog! I am so glad you had a good experience at Nanophase and I am excited for you to get involved in the hands-on portion of your research!

    Rachel 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

