Undergraduate Research Experiences

(Poetic inspiration can occur at unexpected times. You have been warned!)

November, November, November is here!

What have we done so far this year?

Research!

On what, with what, and why you say?

A LSMO crystal, with a Transmission Electron Microscope (TEM), and too many reasons to just say.

However,

Applications, applications, applications to tech.

Include LSMO as a coating for superconducting wires!

Importance?

Revolutionize, revolutionize, revolutionize our world.

With improved energy delivery and storage, faster computers, and more.

But,

This is off, this is off, this is off in future times as much work is needed to be done.

This is where I come in with my project, hopefully!

Progress?

It feels, it feels, it feels too slow!

So much reported on LSMO by Pulsed Laser Deposition (PLD) but not by Molecular Beam Epitaxy (MBE)!

Trends?

Surface defects, surface defects, surface defects in the form of holes develop on the surface of LSMO!

Hole density depends on deposition temperature, and translates into superconducting YBCO by crystallographic strain.

Problem?

None and some, none and some, none and some I say.

Fewer sources on LSMO studies focused on YBCO, and fabricated by MBE, makes contributions from my project more original!

Yay!

I am, I am, I am trying hard to understand the theory, use the TEM, and analyse Dark Field images for good and impactful results.

Now, onto the peer leader part of my work.

Activities?

Lunch, lunch, lunch at the Junction restaurant!

It was a big success, and I got updates about my mentee’s projects as well as concerns.

However,

I forgot, I forgot, I forgot to take pictures!

Oh well, it is learned for next time.

Plans?

Study, study, study session and pizza night.

The day shall be Nov. 22nd, time 6:00 PM, and pizza type is still to be determined!

Currently?

I am being, I am being, I am being a good role model by trying to organize my time creepishly well.

I fabricated a schedule, for every minute of my day, allotted time for every activity needed and wanted, and am following through while providing schedule templates for my mentees.

Ending?

Yes, yes, yes, there is much work to be done.

I will speak again soon about my progress made and more!

Leave a comment